16
Nov
08

Rosemary Ingham

Having been swept up in the swift current of my life and health these past few months, I only just this evening opened the pages of the November 2008 issue of American Theatre, and was saddened to find Liz Covey’s obituary for Rosemary Ingham, who passed in July.

I did not know Rosemary well, but worked with her on a somewhat disconnected basis during my time with American Players Theatre, and later she would become one of the most valuable, insightful, and wise theater professsionals I had the privelige of speaking with for my book, Careers in Technical Theater.

I recall with fondness her honesty when I initially interviewed her for a magazine piece, and will not forget her advice on the dilemma of the solitary theater artist — it is a misnomer, she told me, so one must follow their heart. At the time, I knew she was speaking to me as someone who loved the theater, but also passionately loved to write. And she was in a position to offer advice on the matter.

As I sit in a hospital bed in Indianapolis, I just wanted to take an opportunity to  say thank you to Rosemary. You will be missed, and your kind soul undoubtedly touched many on its journey.


3 Responses to “Rosemary Ingham”


  1. November 18, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Mike,
    We have only corresponded briefly before – I’m writing a thesis on ecotheatre for a Arts Admin MA.
    Thank you for the brief update on yourself, there are many people who admire your work and appreciate your blog who are praying and sending good thoughts your way – and for the comment on Rosemary Ingham. I did not ever have the pleasure of meeting her but was also saddened by her passing. “This world is not conclusion, a sequel stands beyond. Invisible as music, but positive as sound.” Emily Dickenson (I believe). As we progress through this very strange year, even with the financial system in seizures, it is a beautiful thing to find myself more encouraged than ever before that we CAN make a difference – and quickly – thanks to people like you.
    Peace,
    Katie


Leave a comment


what’s in a color?

"It should be about different kinds of symbols than the color green—wind farms, solar, renewable-energy laboratories, those things that are symbolic of the new energy economy. People think that we overuse the concept of green, and it could become trite in its expression.”
“This idea about green in a lot of people’s minds still conjures up this notion of a fringe or something that’s out-there. It doesn’t inspire this notion of a new America. It just seems more substantive than a color.” - Colorado governor Bill Ritter, Jr. in The New Yorker
Performance Art Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
Best Green Blogs

https://ecotheater.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/webbadge2acs1.gif

November 2008
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30